Skip to main content

Vacancy Details

Grade: 07

1 GS-07. Choose one answer that best describes your education and/or experience as it pertains to the basic requirements for this position. Answer to this question is required
  • I possess 1 year of graduate level education.
  • Superior Academic Achievement: I meet one of the following: Upper 3rd of my graduating class based on completed courses; 3.0 or higher out of 4.0 based on 4 years of education, or on courses completed in the final 2 years of curriculum, or a 3.5 or higher based on average of major courses completed, or major courses completed in the final 2 years of curriculum; a member of a national scholastic honor society in accordance with Association of College Honor Societies.
  • I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-05 level as described below.
  • I possess a combination of post high school education and experience that together meet the qualification requirements for this position.
  • I do not meet any of the requirements as described above.
Candidates must have one full year of experience at or equivalent to the GS-5 level. Specialized Experience is defined as experience that involved the collection, analysis and evaluation of technical information.
2 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required

Grade: 09

1 GS-09. Choose one answer that best describes your education and/or experience as it pertains to the basic requirements for this position. Answer to this question is required
  • I possess 2 full years of progressively higher level graduate education or master`s or equivalent graduate degree (such as an LL.B or J.D.).
  • I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-07 level as described below.
  • I possess a combination of graduate level education beyond the first year of progressive graduate study and appropriate experience that together meet the qualification requirements of this position.
  • I do not meet any of the requirements as described above.
Candidates must have one full year of experience at or equivalent to the GS-7 level. Specialized Experience is defined as proficiency in word processing programs and various statistical programs. Experience that involved the collection, analysis and evaluation of technical information, including the formulation of recommendations.
2 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required

Grade: 11

1 Choose one answer that best describes your education and/or experience as it pertains to the basic requirements for this position. Answer to this question is required
  • I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-9 level as described below.
  • I possess a Ph.D. or equivalent doctoral degree.
  • I possess 3 full years of progressively higher level graduate education leading to a Ph.D. or equivalent doctoral degree.
  • I do not meet any of the requirements as described above.
Candidates must have one full year of experience at or equivalent to the GS-9 level. Specialized Experience is defined as proficiency in word processing programs and various statistical programs. Experience that involved the collection, analysis, and evaluation of moderately complex technical information and analytical studies including the formulation of recommendations.
2 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required

Grade: All Grades

1 Select the option that best reflects how you first became aware of this position. Answer to this question is required
  • At a college job fair or professional organizational event
  • Referral from a professional organization
  • College placement office
  • Referral from a state or local agency
  • USAJobs.gov
  • Internet job search
  • Magazine or newspaper advertisement
  • Referral from another Federal agency or Federal employee
  • FERC careers on social media (Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn)
  • Other
2 Based on your selection/selections from above please provide further detailed information (i.e which event(s), name of federal employee(s), name of newspaper, journal, magazine, website). Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
3 Have you visited FERC career social media platforms (Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn)? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
    3.1 If yes, select the pages visited:
    • Facebook
    • Twitter
    • LinkedIn
  • No
4 I understand submission of supporting documentation, e.g., transcripts, DD 214, SF-50, may be required for this position. I also understand that my application will not be considered if the required supporting documentation is not submitted or is not submitted in accordance with the time frames indicated in the announcement. Answer to this question is required
  • True
  • False
5 Which Microsoft programs have you used in a work setting? Answer to this question is required
  • Microsoft Excel
  • Microsoft Word
  • Microsoft PowerPoint
  • Microsoft Access
  • Microsoft Outlook
  • None of the above
6 Are you proficient in SAS or STATA? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • I am not proficient, but I have used these or other statistical software packages.
  • I have not used any statistical software packages.
7 Describe your level of attention to detail as it applies to analyzing and reviewing data? Answer to this question is required
  • I have demonstrated attention to detail as it applies to analyzing and reviewing data as part of a school assignment.
  • I have demonstrated attention to detail as it applies to analyzing and reviewing data occasionally in a work environment.
  • I have demonstrated attention to detail as it applies to analyzing and reviewing data on a regular basis in a work environment.
  • None of the above
8 Have you taken a formal training course related to research methods, information collection, or data interpretation? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
9 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
10 Select the response that best describes your ability to review and analyze data and documents on matters related to the energy industry. Answer to this question is required
  • I have work experience assisting in the review and analysis of basic data associated with energy industries.
  • I have completed education/training that included energy related courses.
  • I have work experience analyzing data and/or materials of a technical nature.
  • I have work experience that includes reviewing documents for accuracy and compliance.
  • None of the above
11 Which types of documents have you written? Answer to this question is required
  • Summary reports
  • Technical reports
  • Directives / policies / regulations
  • Policy guidance
  • Option papers / decision memos
  • Journal or newspaper articles
  • Books or book chapters
  • Academic / research papers
  • None of the above
12 Select the actions you have performed related to written communication. Answer to this question is required
  • Gathered data and organized it to be presented
  • Wrote technical materials (e.g., reports, memorandums)
  • Wrote non technical materials (e.g., reports, letters and memorandums)
  • Completed course work or formal training in written communication
  • None of the above
13 Have you written analytical reports or documents related to the gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries and/or energy or financial trading? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
14 Select the statements that describe your experience in preparing written material. Answer to this question is required
  • I have written reports for academic projects and / or classes.
  • I have written analytical reports for internal audiences (within an organization).
  • I have written analytical reports for external audiences (outside of an organization).
  • I have written briefing material on policies and procedures for a broad internal / external audience.
  • I have prepared issue papers and / or briefings for subject matter groups and or management officials at all levels of an organization.
  • I have reviewed and edited reports for accuracy, grammar, organization, and appropriateness for intended audiences.
  • None of the above.
15 Have you delivered presentations of a technical or financial nature related to the gas, oil pipeline, or electric utilities industries? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
16 Have you completed a class/formal training on the topic of oral communication or public speaking? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
17 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
18 Select the response(s) that describe your experience communicating orally: Answer to this question is required
  • I have interviewed or questioned others to gather needed information.
  • I have provided information to others orally to defend my/ my team's position.
  • I have given brief presentations or updates at meetings (e.g., pre-filing, staff meetings).
  • I have discussed and explained material that may have been controversial or sensitive.
  • I have persuaded others based on facts gathered and determinations that I/ my team made.
  • None of the above.
19 Select the statements that describe examples of your interactions with others. Answer to this question is required
  • Listens with interest to others' views; thinks before he / she speaks
  • Provides an open environment in which others are comfortable discussing issues concerns and even disagreeing with his / her positions
  • Adapts own behavior to work effectively with the different personal styles of others
  • Creates an environment where others accept differences in beliefs, opinions, and values of others
  • None of the above
20 Do you have formal training in negotiation techniques or the art of persuasion? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
21 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
22 Select the task you typically perform when working on a team. Answer to this question is required
  • I am a major contributor to the team's final product.
  • I provide input and constructive feedback.
  • I keep the team motivated to achieve our goal.
  • I follow the team leader's directions.
  • None of the above.