Skip to main content

Grade: 14

No questions specified.

Grade: All Grades

1 Select the option that best reflects how you first became aware of this position. Answer to this question is required
  • At a college job fair or professional organizational event
  • Referral from a professional organization
  • College placement office
  • Referral from a state or local agency
  • USAJobs.gov
  • Internet job search
  • Magazine or newspaper advertisement
  • Referral from another Federal agency or Federal employee
  • FERC careers on social media (Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn)
  • Other
2 Based on your selection/selections from above please provide further detailed information (i.e which event(s), name of federal employee(s), name of newspaper, journal, magazine, website). Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
3 Have you visited FERC career social media platforms (Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn)? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
    3.1 If yes, select the pages visited:
    • Facebook
    • Twitter
    • LinkedIn
  • No
4 I understand submission of supporting documentation, e.g., transcripts, DD 214, SF-50, may be required for this position. I also understand that my application will not be considered if the required supporting documentation is not submitted or is not submitted in accordance with the time frames indicated in the announcement. Answer to this question is required
  • True
  • False
5 Do you meet the basic educational requirement for Engineer as described in vacancy announcement? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
6 Select the choice that best describes your specialized experience. Answer to this question is required
  • I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-13 level as described below.
  • I do not have one full year of specialized experience equivalent to the definition as described below.
Experience in independently applying complex structural engineering analyses in the investigation, design, construction, operation, and maintenance of dams and hydroelectric power facilities.
7 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
8 Select the statement(s) that describe your experience working with dams. Answer to this question is required
  • I have experience performing dam safety engineering inspections.
  • I have experience performing engineering analysis.
  • I have experience performing computer modeling on dams.
  • I have no experience working with dams.
9 Do you have expert-level experience working in structural engineering? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
10 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
11 Which steps of the inspection and analysis process related to what area of structural engineering have you contributed to in a professional environment? Answer to this question is required
  • Field inspection of structures
  • Structural analysis
  • Authored engineering reports providing conclusions and recommendations on structural adequacy
  • Provided review of plan of action to correct structural deficiencies
  • None of the above
12 What is the highest level of structural analysis that you have performed? Answer to this question is required
  • Dynamic analyses incorporating material and or geometric non-linearities
  • Static analyses incorporating material and or geometric non-linearities
  • Small deflection linear elastic analyses
  • None of the above
13 Which software programs have you used to perform structural analyses in a professional environment? Answer to this question is required
  • FLAC
  • FLAC 3D
  • ADINA
  • SAP2000CSI
  • Other
  • None of the above
14 Which hydraulic analyses have you independently performed on the job? Answer to this question is required
  • Flood frequency estimation
  • Open channel flow
  • PMP/PMF Analysis
  • Dam break estimation
  • None of the above
15 Which structures do you have experience inspecting for overall condition? Answer to this question is required
  • gravity dams
  • arch dams
  • slab dams
  • buttress dams
  • spillway gates
  • penstocks
  • pipelines
  • None of the above
16 Do you hold a Professional Engineering License? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
17 Which actions have you performed when completing a written document? Answer to this question is required
  • Submitted a document that I drafted for review
  • Added additional information to a document that someone else wrote
  • Edited someone else's written document for clarity, interpretation, and tone
  • Edited someone else's written document for spelling, grammar, and thought organization
  • Reviewed someone else's written document for fact and / or data accuracy
  • None of the above
18 Which statements describe your experience developing inspection and analysis reports? Answer to this question is required
  • I have provided first drafts.
  • I have reviewed and commented on other's drafts for grammar, spelling, and clarity.
  • I have proofed inspection and analysis reports for technical accuracy.
  • I have been responsible for final products.
  • I have had signature authority.
  • None of the above.
19 Do you have experience presenting and justifying / defending a technical position in a work environment? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
20 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
21 Select the statement that best describes your highest level of communicating and coordinating with engineers and key decision makers regarding dam safety information. Answer to this question is required
  • I routinely (as a regular part of the job) communicate and coordinate verbally and in writing with engineers AND key decision makers regarding dam safety information. I independently (or with little review) complete tasks associated with this process.
  • I have some experience communicating and coordinating with engineers or key decision makers regarding dam safety information. I have assisted senior staff in this process or I have completed some of the tasks associated with this process independently but on an infrequent or limited basis.
  • I do not have communication and coordination experience specifically with regards to dam safety information, but I do have experience communicating and coordinating with engineers or key decision makers on other engineering disciplines.
  • None of the above.
22 What types of information do you have experience presenting orally? Answer to this question is required
  • Technical information
  • Non-technical information
  • School projects
  • Modeling
  • Results of assessments and investigations
  • Recommendations
  • Policies or procedures
  • None of the above
23 Select responses that describe your experience related to oral communication. Answer to this question is required
  • I have communicated information to groups or individuals in order to instruct or lead.
  • I have communicated information to groups or individuals in order to persuade / negotiate.
  • I have conducted informal training to others on an individual basis.
  • I have conducted informal training to groups.
  • I have conducted formal training sessions on economic and technical issues.
  • I have represented management in meetings / conferences.
  • None of the above
24 I have experience developing and presenting expert and reliable dam safety information. Answer to this question is required
  • True
  • False
25 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required